4 Comments

Baking in Colour: Coconut, Rhubarb, Mango and Strawberry Frozen Mousse Cake

Part of the joy of following along with month of marks has been the excuse to try out new techniques that I would normally consider way beyond my skill level. Like a coconut dacquoise and a pâte à bombe base for fruit mousse.  But really what I wanted to try out was baking from colour, not just from flavour. Layers of creamy white, bright pink and muted yellow – based on some fabric that I’ve had lying around the house. Plus this gorgeous inspiration that I can only dream of living up to. So as well as learning the rather technical aspects of the mousse cake, I had good fun messing around with colour.

The final result was unbelievably good – I’m sure that I can improve on the technical aspects but I will gladly keep practising them by making this recipe again and again. Rhubarb and mango aren’t flavours that you would normally see together, but they are paired so beautifully and taste of summer sunshine.

 

4 comments on “Baking in Colour: Coconut, Rhubarb, Mango and Strawberry Frozen Mousse Cake

  1. This looks SO beautiful! It’s perfect for a sunny spring (almost Summer!) Sunday night dinner! And I love the colour blocking!

  2. Another masterpiece! You should write a book! Your photo’s and recipes are amazing and I love the way you write about them. I’d buy your book!

  3. This is beautiful and fabulous and you are amazing. The end.

  4. Yum looks very lush

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

