6 Comments

A glimpse of the future

The Boston Cream Pie Cupcake.

Seeing as there has been some feedback chat – both online and in my kitchen – that boston cream pie cupcakes are the delicacy of choice, I thought I would give you a wee glimpse of them. Plus, I had been dreaming about making these for ages, so it was nice to finally get an excuse to make them up and share several pictures with you.

Crème Pâtissière in the making…

Whisking the egg yolks and sugar…

…and then the flour..

…to get a nice smooth mix.

Adding the scalded cream and vanilla mix, before it is returned to the heat.

This was my first time making crème pâtissière, so I stopped messing about with photos at this point. I need not have been so nervous as the minimum of whisking was required to get the smoothest of textures.  I may have added a bit much vanilla, but it tasted heavenly.

Filling the inside of the cupcake with the crème pâtissière.

Chocolate ganache is swirled on top.

The finished  cupcake.

I was pretty pleased with how these turned out – the flavours went brilliantly together, and once I actually bothered to let the ganache set properly, the textures were good too.  I will get the recipe up before too long, but for now, I hope the pictures will tempt you along to Cameo Curio.

6 comments on “A glimpse of the future

  1. wow… these look amazing! a veritable triumph.

  2. Oh my goodness this looks so amazing, I can’t even tell you how excited I am

  3. Well i hope you’re happy. I’m now TOTALLY starving with next to no chance of anything tasty as those delicious looking cream pies for lunch :op

  4. Andrew, my sincerest apologies. I’ll make a batch next time you are up. Or, will you be up next time I make a batch?!

  5. Those do look pretty spectacular. How do you cut the cupcake up? I’m assuming you use muffin rather than bun tins to get the required depth…

    • I tend to use muffin cases for most cupcakes, as I like to leave space for them to rise, and for the icing. I will put up the full recipe later, but basically for filling a cupcake, you cut a wide circle in the top of the cupcake, and pull it out, so that a cone-shape comes out. You cut off the bottom of the cone, and – once the filling is in – place the top back on like a hat. Does that help or will photographs of the process be better?

Leave a Reply

