Leave a comment

Playing Catch Up Part 2: Boston Cream Pie Cupcake

When I was last in town, I made a passing remark to H. about a sign we saw in the window of a teashop. She then went away and made this for me, and by made I mean beautifully hand embroidered. Check out the detail – it’s gorgeous. I’d be jealous of her talent, but I am wasn’t on the receiving end of said talent so I’m not going to complain. H. suggested that I sew it on to my Apocalyptic Apron, but I think it is far too pretty to get covered in cake batter and melted chocolate. It’s going to get framed.

Having received such a sweet gift, I thought I would share the love, and gift you all with the much-promised Boston Cream Pie Cupcake recipe.  This cupcake is one of H.’s (many) favourites from the Apocalypse Bakery, and she has even said that she would give her soul in exchange for one. But to be honest, I’m happy with embroidered gifts…I have nowhere to keep a soul, even as nice a one as H’s.

Also, apologies for the lack of new  photos, I haven’t made them again recently.

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

This is a bit of a mismatch of recipes. Amy Sedaris cupcakes. Nigella’s Crème Patisserie, somewhat adjusted. And the chocolate ganache that I have always made, and have no idea where I would go to find it.

Vanilla Cupcakes

Yes, this is entirely copied from my previous posting of this recipe.

Makes 12.

Ingredients

85g butter

150g caster sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

¼ teaspoon salt

1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

156g plain flour

120ml milk

1)   Preheat oven to 350oF, 180oC. Fan oven 160oC.

2)   Beat butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.

3)   Beat in egg and vanilla until well mixed.

4)   Add the dry ingredients and beat gently until just combined

5) Add milk and beat gently so that the batter is combined and free of lumps. This batter quite runny for a cupcake batter.

6)   Fill cupcake liners. Between ½ to ¾ full is best. I am a wimp when it comes to filling the liners, as I am terrified of overfilling the liners, which leads to the cupcake overflowing and sinking. One day I will face my fear, just not today.

7)   Bake for 18-20 minutes. They should be springy and slightly golden on top.

Crème Patisserie

Ingredients

125ml milk

125 double cream

1 vanilla pod or 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 large egg yolks

50g caster sugar

15g plain flour

1)   Warm the milk and cream in a saucepan along with the vanilla pod, split lengthways. I really like a good vanilla taste, so I prefer to scrape out the seeds inside, and add them to the milk, and also place the de-seeded pod into the creamy mix. If you are using vanilla extract, it will get added later. Bring mix to the boil (the idea here is to scald it), remove from heat and let stand to infuse for about 10 minutes.

2)   In a large bowl, whisk the egg yolks and sugar together until creamy, and then beat in the flour.

3)   Remove the vanilla pods from the cream mix. Add the warm, creamy mix to the yolks and sugar mix, and whisk until smooth. If you are using vanilla extract, add it at the same time.

4)   Pour the mix back into the saucepan and over a low heat whisk or stir until the custard thickens. I apparently cannot tell the difference between the custard thickening and it getting lumps, as I freaked out that I was making bad custard, when in actual fact it was just getting thicker. But then again, I’m an idiot.  It should take about 10 minutes.

5)   Remove from heat and pour into a bowl to help it cool. Don’t put this in the fridge. Just don’t. To stop the custard from forming a skin, tear off wide strips of greaseproof paper, wet them, and place them over the top of the custard.  I’d recommend making this several hours before you want to eat the cupcakes to give it plenty of time to set and cool.

Chocolate Ganache

Ingredients

285g chocolate. I used milk chocolate here as I didn’t want to overwhelm the flavour of the custard, but dark chocolate would be great too.

240ml double cream.

1)   Heat the double cream double boiler style at medium-high heat until it comes to boiling.

2)   Remove from heat and immediately pour over the chocolate.

3)   Wait a couple of minutes, and then stir it all up until it is smooth, and there are no lumps of chocolate.

4)   Let the ganache set in the fridge for at least a couple of hours, but preferably overnight. This is always my undoing, I’m not so great with planning ahead!

Putting the cupcakes together

Apologies for the appalling quality of these photos. Those are my hands in the pictures, so technically I can’t be blamed for the quality…. I hope they provide a slightly better idea of what is meant.

1)   With a sharp knife, cut a wide circle into the top of the cupcake, it should be about 1 cm from the edge of the cupcake all the way round.

2)   Gently pull at this circle, removing it from the cupcake. It should pull away a cone shape from the cupcake. If the cone cut into the cupcake is not deep enough, scoop out some of the cakey bits inside. Yes, you can eat those bits, enjoy!


3)   Cut of the bottom of the cone removed from the cupcake, leaving a circular hat.

4)   Fill the cupcake with the crème patisserie.

5)   Replace the little cake hat on top of the custard.

6)   Spoon or pipe on the ganache so that it covers the top of the cupcake. Try to make it thick enough so that the join round the circular hat cannot be seen.

7)   The cupcakes are much better once they have been set for a couple of hours before eating, but I can understand if the pressure is too much and you just want to eat them right away. They are runnier, but still oh so tasty.

Leave a Reply

