1 Comment

Prospects and Previews

Seeing as it’s been a bit of time since posting, let me catch you up on what’s been going on at Apocalypse Bakery over the past wee while.The absence of an online presence was due to the blundering great black hole in my life that was my master’s thesis, which with the help of a Christmas miracle (in the shape of my patient and caring family) was finished in just enough time to buy presents and help with Christmas dinner! Needless to say, the festive season was bliss.  The turning in of the thesis also marked the end of my seven-year stint at university, during which I compiled two degrees, a strange compulsion for footnotes and minimal employable life skills.

*My kitchen. The print is by HeartfishPress on Etsy.

Life now is both amazing and terrifying. I have the opportunity to create my dream job within an incredible organisation, which will require a lot of hard work, a steep learning curve, and a lot of voluntary hours to start with, but I’d happily do all of that and more for it. So, that is pretty sweet. The first meeting about it is at the end of this week – wish me well!

More importantly, I now have much more time on my hands to bake, particularly to experiment and be more creative with the baking and the blogging.  I’ve already endeavoured to make more pastry and bread, and to make something once a fortnight that I consider to be completely beyond my skill level. And perhaps I’ll do a few new things with the blog as well, seeing as I have let it become rather stagnant in the last few months.  Anyway, I’m very excited about this coming year, in real life and in the kitchen – it is already promising to be a good one.  Thanks for all your support in 2010, and here’s a teaser of what’s coming up on the blog in the next few weeks.

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Prospects and Previews

  1. This made me so, so hungry.

    And your canisters? Want!

Leave a Reply

