4 Comments

It’s beginning to look a lot like….

There’s nothing quite like the combination of dark days, impending celebrations and the smell of gingerbread to get you back into baking and blogging.

I don’t normally get that into wintery celebrations until fairly late on, but I’ve decided that this year, seeing as I don’t have exams, dissertations or hospital trips, that I might as well be excited about making the festive season a good one…for the kitchen at least. I have a proper baking plan and everything…and not even the back pains after neatly tiling a roof in flaked almonds can make me reconsider!

What’s on your list for must-have winter food?

 

 

4 comments on “It’s beginning to look a lot like….

  1. That is BEAUTIFUL!

    I fail at gingerbread houses, but MAN you’re good at this. My winter food is stew. I also love gingerbread, I’m going to try a gingerbread CAKE.

  2. Clare, did you make the house yourself? It’s stunning.

    My winter baking was some failure cookies. This is the second time I have failed at cookies, I don’t have the knack. I am OK with cakes, pies and traybakes. Not too shabby at mains either. But the cookie eludes me, any advice on what consistency the batter should be? mine always melt into one large, thin and crumbly blob. I make cookie crisps.
    tx

    • Hi Tammy!

      Yes, I did make it myself…very time consuming but actually rather soothing. I was a nice thing to get absorbed into for taking my mind of other stuff! I’ve got more pictures of the process of making it to come!

      Cookies….my tips are as follows – don’t over beat the mixture; use real butter; chill the batter in a freezer bag in the fridge for at least half an hour before cutting out and baking.

      If you are still having issues, you can always use my cheeky we trick of just baking all the batter in one sheet and then cutting it into squares – although this only really works if you like soft cookies like me. I’ve got a good recipe that this works with here – https://apocalypsebakery.wordpress.com/2010/10/13/baking-in-haste-raspberry-and-white-chocolate-mini-cookies/

      Hope that helps!
      Cx

Leave a Reply

