1 Comment

Gingerbread House

So here’s the full view of the gingerbread house that gave you a sneak preview of earlier.

I love gingerbread houses, but for some reason this is the first one that I’ve ever made. Both my parents and my in-laws have moved house in the past couple of months, so I thought it’d be sweet to do a gingerbread new house for each of them – although I still need to figure out the best way to transport one to Durham!

I won’t lie…I’m still pretty tired from doing the flaked almond roof, given that it took an hour for each side…carefully picking the right size and shape of flaked almond, dabbing on the icing and neatly placing them on. Still, I found it somewhat meditative and restful. I’m pretty pleased with how the whole thing looks, especially the contrast of the white icing against the dark gingerbread walls, and the pattern of the flaked almond tiling on the roof.

It isn’t particularly edible…well, it’s edible, just not that tasty. Then again I’d probably be near tears if a days worth of gingerbread architecture and decoration was demolished so quickly! Next time I’ll remember to make some extra walls as biscuits!

One comment on “Gingerbread House

  1. Looks fantastic.I was going to do gingerbread families for work and keep some to live in the house … but they turned into monsters. So no worries about eating them as they are not beautiful but they are tasty,

Leave a Reply

