Leave a comment

Guest Post: Magic Baking’s Mango and Banana Cake

Hello! Today we have a guest post from Magic Baking. He’s pretty new to the baking-blogosphere, but I’m already drooling over the cakes! So, without any further ado…

 

Here is a recipe that my friend Krippa gave me. Everyone I tell about this cake is always confused by the addition of the mango, or assume I’m making bread, I’m not sure why… This is a fantastic cake that is really moist and the mango is definitely worth it! Out of all the cakes I have made so far this is my flatmate’s favourite cake, the recipe is in cups, which makes it really easy to do, just to warn you though 2 cups of mashed banana is a surprising number of bananas!

Ingredients:
(DRY)
1 Cup Sugar
3 Cups self raising flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp powdered cinnamon

(WET)
2 cups mashed banana (approx 4 large bananas)
1 cups peeled mango (approx. 1 mango)
1 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla essence
3 eggs

The method for making this cake is very simple. Preheat the oven to 150C and grease/line your cake tin of choice. I usually use a 9″ round tin which this fits perfectly into, but this time I put it in a large tray so I could split it in two and then cut it up into smaller squares for the two parties I was going to.

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a bowl (preferably using a sieve).

The main time consuming part is preparing the fruit, here’s some tips if you (like me) haven’t cut up a mango before:

The mango has a large flat seed in the centre, cut onto the flat of the seed on both sides then slice down on both sides in the middle to get four quarters. There will probably be some mango left on the seed which is usable too.

With your four quarters slice across them in a close criss cross pattern to create lots of small pieces that can then be easily removed from the skin by sliding the knife under them along the inside edge of the skin.

I recommend mashing the bananas separately using the back of a fork.

Then mix all of the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, I would beat the eggs and add them a bit at a time.

Now (making sure your bowl is big enough for the total of the two mixes) add the liquid half in a couple of stages to the dry half, making sure that it all gets mixed in, but don’t over stir if possible.

Cook for an hour at 150C, my oven is a fan oven so I usually check it a bit sooner as it cooks a bit faster. As this was in a tray it cooked quite fast so reducing the time would have been good, but it was still great on the inside.

I added some lemon cream cheese icing which very quickly became standard for me after I made it with the coffee and ginger cake from Apocalypse Bakery. (Recipe here!)

This is a nice and moist cake and is good for the next few days, I would try and finish it within a week, but I would be very surprised if this ever became an issue as this cake doesn’t stay around for long!

Leave a Reply

